Friday, June 17, 2011

New Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences members

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited several actors, directors, writers and other various filmmakers, artists and designers to become its newest members.

There are quite few cool names on the list, so here are some of the highlights.

Russell Brand, Bradley Cooper, Gerard Butler, Peter Dinklage, David Duchovny, Robbie Coltrane, Jennifer Garner and Dominic Monaghan are among the 27 actors invited.

Director invitations include Tom Hooper, Lisa Cholodenko and John Cameron Mitchell.

Cholodenko was also invited to the writers branch along with David Seidler and Aaron Sorkin.

Other notable names include composer Terence Blanchard, and producer Kevin Feige.

To be honest, it's surprising that several of these people haven't already been invited to attend. Seriously, Aaron Sorkin isn't in the academy already. Plus, Blanchard is a renowned jazz artist who has scored most of Spike Lee's movies.

The good news is there are a lot of young artists on the list, so it's nice to see the academy adding some young blood to their membership.

No comments: